Monday, July 30, 2018

Robbie Fulks & Linda Gail Lewis Wild! Wild! Wild! CD review

Listening to this new album from Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Robbie Fulks & the "Queen Of The Pumpin' Piano" Linda Gail Lewis (Wild! Wild! Wild! on Bloodshot Records) makes me realize I've found the answer to questions like: "Is there any REAL music being made these days?", "Anybody doing honest country music anymore?", "Where did the great country duet songs go?", etc.

Robbie Fulks and Linda Gail Lewis have made an album that would make folks like George & Tammy, Johnny & June, Conway & Loretta, etc. all jealous of the no-holds-barred lyrical and musical assault they have unleashed.  It's raw, it's honest, it's beautiful and it's rockin'!  Only a member of the Lewis family can rock a song with lyrics like: "Till death do us part...and that's now...cuz I'm gonna kill you...and you know I got the will to!"  While Linda Gail may be one of the nicest people you'll ever meet, the conviction with which she sings this in the song "Till Death" will convince you she means it...and I wouldn't recommend doubting her!  "I Just Lived A Country Song" is one of the best country songs you haven't heard yet with Robbie leading the way.  "I hitched my wagon to a heartache...and Lord I'm sleepin' with it now!"  This is honky-tonk perfection.  The album feels like they were locked away in a room together with no directive handed down other than to just see what happens naturally.  There are some nice musical surprises in there as well.  You get a surprisingly soulful "Foolmaker" from Robbie and a laid back groovin' "Who Cares" from Linda Gail and you're unlikely going to be able to stop playing them over and over.  Their mutual love of traditional country, jazz, soul, rock & roll, rockabilly, boogie woogie, gospel and roots churns out a honky-tonkin', raucous romp with lots of punk attitude.  "The animals are runnin' the zoo!", they boldly declare in "Wild!, Wild!, Wild!" and we can't wait to see where they take us!
-James Riley/ Rockabilly N Blues Radio Hour

1. Round Too Long
2. I Just Lived A Country Song
3. That's Why They Call It Temptation
4. Wild Wild Wild
5. Who Cares
6. Till Death
7. Memphis Never Falls From Style
8. Boogie Woogie Country Gal
9. Foolmaker
10. Your Red Wagon
11. On The Jericho Road
12. It Came From The South
13. Hardluck, Louisiana

Bloodshot Records
Release Date:  August 10, 2018